Echo

Jupiter Ascending

I blogged about this on Zone6 and compared it to the Matrix which was another film directed by the Wachowskis and while I stand by my declaration there that this movie could have been so much more, I have to admit that I didn’t hate it.  I know that’s not the greatest recommendation in the world for a movie, but there were some positives to this film:

  • It was beautiful … I don’t mean that in terms of the story which was sorely lacking, but from a visual point of view it was lovely and you could easily get drawn into it.  The ships with their interleaving gravity sails were exquisite and the fight sequences were really quite well done.
  • It is original … again while the story itself is lacking, the biggest positive to this film is that its not a sequel/prequel to another film or based on a comic book, or book series.  This is a whole new universe all its own and while it does steal quite blatantly from other SciFi properties (as mentioned in my post) including the Wachowskis own work, it does this in a complementary fashion.
  • mila-kunis-18aIt has Mila Kunis … OK, she’s not the best actress in the world, but she is a very pretty girl and quite nice eye candy!  It is somewhat a pity that her love interest in this film is a half-man/half-wolf hybrid angel alien with roller skates (!).  It would have been really nice to see her be a kick ass, take no prisoners broad instead of a damsel in distress but you can’t ask for everything I guess!

So I guess the question is, was my initial post too negative?  Is it a good SciFi movie … do these positives outweigh all of its negatives – the most glaring being the story-line itself?  I don’t know, I think I’m unfortunately in the majority here as my opinion seems to match most of what I’ve read online.  It’s actually a real pity as I was hoping for so much more, and I think to a large extent that is where they got burnt.  What do you think?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 19, 2015 by in Zone 6.
Follow Echo on WordPress.com

Recent Comments

Top Posts & Pages

Member of The Internet Defense League

